Driving While Intoxicated
Dog Bite Victims
Nursing Home Injuries
Slip and Falls
Felony or Misdemeanor
Driving While Intoxicated
Hit & Run Accidents
DUI Defense Attorneys Serving Clients Throughout Virginia
After you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI/DWI), your first course of action should be to retain the services of a skilled and accomplished criminal defense lawyer like the attorneys at The Stellute Law Firm. A DUI conviction can be one of the costly mistakes of your life. DUI convictions in Virginia carry harsh consequences, including jail time, Revocation of License, completion of the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP), mandatory ignition interlock, and exorbitant fines and court cost.
The best decision you can make during this stressful time is to hire The Stellute Law Firm to aggressively defend the drunk driving charges for you. The Stellute Law Firm has decades of experience with litigating a variety of criminal cases, including driving under the influence. With our experience, passion for justice, and extensive background in criminal law, we are ready to show you why The Stellute Law Firm is "The One to Know."
To set up a free initial consultation with one of our Hampton Roads criminal defense attorneys, call (757) 722-2815 now.
Types of DUI
There are four types of DUIs in the state of Virginia:
1. DUI- First Offense
2. DUI- Second or Subsequent Offense
3. Felony DUI
4. Underage-offender DUI
DUI- First Offense
DUI, first offense, is a class 1 misdemeanor, in which the defendant faces up to 12 months in jail and $2,500 fine. The potential mandatory sentence varies depending upon your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). In Virginia, it is illegal to drive with a BAC over .08. If convicted of a DUI, first offense, with a BAC of .15-.20, the defendant will be required to serve a mandatory 5 days in jail. If convicted of a DUI, first offense, with a BAC above .20, the defendant will be required to serve a mandatory 10 days in jail. Elevated BACs impose other harsher penalties.
DUI- Second or Subsequent Offense
Multiple-offender DUI carries extreme sentences. The Virginia legislature has begun cracking down on drunk driving, and as a deterrence, the legislature has imposed steep penalties for subsequent DUI arrests. The possible maximum sentence depends largely upon how long ago your previous conviction was, as well as your BAC level.
Felony DUI is reserved for multiple offenders. If a defendant has two or more DUI convictions and gets a third DUI conviction in the 10 year period following the previous convictions, the defendant will be charged as a felon. Potential penalties included revocation of your driver's license, thousands of dollars in fines, seizure of your car, lengthy periods of incarceration, and an ignition interlock device installed in your car.
The .08 BAC applies only to adults. For minors under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 is criminalized as a class 1 misdemeanor. However, BAC levels between .02 and .08 face less harsh sentences than those over .08. BAC levels between .02 and .08 are usually punished with community service, suspension of driver's license, fines, and alcohol safety classes. Minors with BACs above .08 are punished as adults.
Seek Legal Assistance with Your DUI Charges Today
The Stellute Law Firm understands criminal laws and procedure and has an abundance of trial experience advocating for their clients seeking to have the charges dismissed, or with negotiating pleas and sentences. After all, we are celebrated in the Hampton Roads area for being "The One to Know." Our law firm has an office conveniently located in Hampton Roads. The Stellute Law Firm serves clients throughout Virginia and the communities of Hampton Roads, Hampton, Newport News, York County, and Williamsburg.
Call The Stellute Law Firm immediately at (757) 722-2815 to discuss your pending DUI case.